A building game

The Cathedral of St-Légier

Arc lémanique (VD)

Dating from the 1970s, it is a building in pure Vaudois style. This is the only trace of the past, because it has been completely emptied and rearranged. The volumes are therefore imposing by their vastness - the height under ceiling, panoramic bay windows - and benefit from the fact that there is almost no visual break from one room to another. Everything seems to be embraced in a glance, whichever direction you look in.

The bright LED rails highlight some beautifully crafted architectural reflections (the work plan, the steel staircase ...), when the different interior elements (the footbridge, the alcoves, the origami of Velux ...) offer an intriguing set of volumes that fit together and answer each other. We make the splits, but there is something of the mountain hut in the detail and the Gehry style museum in the monumental.

A block of raw concrete houses the kitchen. It separates a private space from the more common rooms, and supports the superior intimate space. Decorated with Farrow & Ball paint and Artek "marquetry", this seems to be a Neverlandian refuge, intimate and lush. The common areas are in wood, white with shades of gray, imbued with a contemporary nobility, when storage is integrated into the wall blocks for more discretion. A form of compactness that allows for greater generosity.

© photos: Daniela & Tonatiuh

Un Jeu de constructions

La Cathédrale de St-Légier

Arc lémanique (VD)

Datée des années 1970, c'est une bâtisse au plus pur style vaudois. C'est du reste la seule trace du passé, car elle a été entièrement vidée et réagencée. Les volumes s'imposent dès lors par leur vastitude – la hauteur sous plafond, les baies vitrées panoramiques –, et bénéficient du fait qu'il n'y a quasiment aucune rupture visuelle d'une pièce à l'autre. Tout semble pouvoir être embrassé d'un coup d'œil, quelque soit la direction regardée.

Les rails de LED lumineux viennent souligner quelques reflets architecturaux joliment travaillés (le plan de travail, l'escalier en acier...), quand les différents éléments intérieurs (la passerelle, les alcôves, l'origami des Velux...) offrent un intrigant jeu de volumes qui s'emboîtent et se répondent. On fait le grand écart, mais il y a quelque chose du refuge de montagne dans le détail et du musée façon Gehry dans le monumental.

Un bloc de béton brut abrite la cuisine. Il sépare un espace privatif des pièces plus communes, et soutient l'espace intime supérieur. Tapissé par des peintures Farrow&Ball et des « marqueteries » Artek, celui-ci semble un refuge neverlandien, intime et luxuriant. Les espaces communs sont en bois, blanc et nuances de gris, empreints d'une noblesse toute contemporaine, quand les rangements sont intégrés dans les blocs muraux pour plus de discrétion. Une forme de compacité qui permet une plus grande générosité.

© photos: Daniela & Tonatiuh